Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-23-2020, 10:42 AM
ashleykaryl ashleykaryl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 70
New drive for SuperDuper - No APFS option

I have recently ordered a new Mac mini with the idea of putting the Mac Pro into semi-retirement and I decided to order three new external drives for mini.

There will be a 1TB SSD for general data, a 1TB USB 3 for SuperDuper and a 2TB USB 3 for Time Machine.

I first tried the SSD in disk utility and found no option in Mojave to format as APFS, so I tried on my daughter's MBP running Catalina and there it appeared as an option by right clicking on the drive with a warning that the the drive would not be able to run on an older system, so I left it for the moment. The same option in Mojave was greyed out.

I have yet to look at the drive destined for Time Machine, which will remain as Mac OS extended, however I have the same issue in Mojave of not being able to erase and convert this to APFS for SuperDuper. I have followed the thread at https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/...ead.php?t=5738, however it does not seem to work that way.

The mini is still being shipped, so no huge rush on this but I am a little perplexed, because I had no difficulty before converting drives to APFS, whether internal or external.
__________________
Author of Colour Management Pro https://colourmanagementpro.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-23-2020, 11:10 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
First, I would use a 1TB SSD for SD - about $150 US for 1TB.

Second, Disk Utility can be confusing. But, to format as APFS:
  1. Open Disk Utility
  2. Choose "Show All Devices" from the View menu
  3. Select the destination drive hardware (above the existing volume)
  4. Click Erase
  5. Choose the "GUID" partition scheme (2nd pop-up), THEN "APFS" formatting (1st pop-up) and name appropriately
  6. Click Erase
That works in 10.13 and later. It definitely works.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-23-2020, 12:08 PM
ashleykaryl ashleykaryl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 70
I see where I was going wrong now. When you open it defaults to Master Boot Record as the scheme and that doesn't allow APFS as an option.

I assume you suggest using an SSD for SD because it could then serve as a fast start up drive, rather than USB 3.
__________________
Author of Colour Management Pro https://colourmanagementpro.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-23-2020, 12:14 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Fast startup and fast backup, plug it works better with APFS. I mean an external SSD - which would still be USB3/USBC...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-23-2020, 12:29 PM
ashleykaryl ashleykaryl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 70
Yes that all makes good sense. I guess I was just just trying to keep the costs down after all the other expenses without thinking it through enough. I imagine the SSD would likely be more reliable as well.
__________________
Author of Colour Management Pro https://colourmanagementpro.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-23-2020, 12:39 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes, I think it likely would, and their prices are down low enough that it makes sense for "reasonable" sizes.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't boot into the SuperDuper backup drive. MMM General 8 02-19-2015 03:04 PM
What's the right way to set up a new backup or replacement drive? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 09-13-2009 09:42 AM
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
Migrating from one hard drive to another zestyping General 3 07-25-2008 08:22 AM
Best process to replace internal hard drive using SuperDuper!? emikysa General 26 02-09-2007 05:03 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.