Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-31-2007, 03:29 AM
septicdeath septicdeath is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
paid attention a little too late

I had been backing up my leopard install to a firewire drive as a sparseimage.
I hadnt had any problems so I never really needed to test it, and quite honestly, I haven't even been to the site to check out whats going on w/SD.
I lost my main harddrive last night. I have already replaced it with a new unit. Its just now that after I use the leopard install disk, and then disk utility(mount the sparse) and then use disk util restore to restore the leopard sparse and reboot that I obviously now know that my system doesn't boot.

I thought about installing a fresh copy and then using sudo commands from the cli and just copying * from the mounted sparse image to the new leopard install, but for some reason it just got all jacked up.

Anyone have any suggestions on the best way to do this, or is my sd created sparseimage of my leopard install just never going to be able to be restored from. What I'm asking, is the sparse image been created faulty, or is it that I need to use like CCC to restore the image to the internal hard-drive?

I actually am semi new to the mac, is it possible to just mount the sparse image and just copy the applications and user directories and restore everything this way?

I also have another usb disk with leopard install on it I can boot, so that my laptop internal is not used during booting if that helps.

Any suggestions would be great.

Thanks

John

Last edited by septicdeath; 12-31-2007 at 03:58 AM. Reason: Spelling
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-31-2007, 11:04 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
What I'd do is copy the sparse image to another drive (directly to it), with the "ACL Copy" option in the Advanced tab of Options OFF. Then, clean install Leopard and -- when prompted -- migrate from the copy into the new install.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-31-2007, 02:49 PM
septicdeath septicdeath is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 7
Partially tried that.

Although I didn;t have the ACL's turned off, I did restore to the internal drive. (My sparse is 10.5.1) and my boot is 10.5.0, so I need to find 10.5.1 media.

Ohh... I think I just read what you said again. This would be a 3 drive swap. Install my sparse to a non internal drive, then install to internal and tell it to find other macintosh connected to system?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-31-2007, 03:42 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That's what I'm suggesting, yes: a 3-drive (two external volumes) swap.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-31-2007, 08:49 PM
fdlcunha fdlcunha is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Help! ;-)

I am in the same situation. I have a complete HD clone done with SD! of my previous Leopard 10.5.1 internal HD. I was unaware SD was not fully compatible with Leopard, and I had to format my internal HD. So, now, how can I use my external HD backup to restore my internal HD? Is there any way to make my external clone bootable?
Please, do help me.
Happy New Year from Rio de Janeiro.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-31-2007, 09:11 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
The solution would be the same as the above...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.