Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-25-2006, 05:57 PM
camaso camaso is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Spotlight indexes my bootvolume after each backup

Hi

Can you tell me, why Spotlight always completely indexes my bootvolume after successfully backing it up? Sometimes this takes more than an hour on my dual 2 GHz G5! As I run SD twice a day this makes up to two hours of slowdown!
I'm running SD 2.1.1 on OSX.4.6. The problems started with SD2.0 if I remember correctly.

Thanks for help!
Ralph
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-25-2006, 06:45 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It does this to the *startup* volume, Ralph? It certainly shouldn't, unless you booted from a different volume: did you do that?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-25-2006, 06:47 PM
camaso camaso is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
No, I didn't restart after backup. I always run my Mac on its bootvolume.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-25-2006, 06:52 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK. Are you sure it's indexing your startup volume and not the backup? To fix the latter, simply add the backup volume to the Spotlight Preference Pane's "Privacy" tab. That'll be preserved across backups, and should stop it from indexing or searching the backup volume.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-25-2006, 06:57 PM
camaso camaso is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7
Yes, it is the startup volume (labelled G5dual as opposed to G5dualBackup)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-25-2006, 07:00 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I can't think of any reason why the startup volume would reindex after a backup. The index isn't touched, and we don't modify more than our preferences, log, etc.

The destination volume would be, however, if it's not in privacy.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to verify a Scheduled Backup? tuqqer General 3 12-06-2005 06:50 PM
(Zero-length) File caused SuperDuper to abort backup alancfrancis General 7 08-31-2005 10:42 AM
spotlight finds files on backup but not on source volume snoopy67 General 1 07-05-2005 08:29 AM
How do I disable spotlight for my backup drive? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 05-12-2005 11:14 AM
Smart Backup Error bill s General 20 02-04-2005 09:46 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.