Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-26-2006, 04:28 AM
Luhmann Luhmann is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Jungle Disk?

Has anyone tried using Super Duper with Jungle Disk ?

Jungle Disk is an interface to Amazon.com's 0.15/GB online storage service, S3. It mounts your S3 "bucket" as a local disc image. However, I don't know if it supports all the necessary features for Mac OS X backup. Anyone know?

One problem with Jungle Disk right now is that it creates a "cache" of everything you upload on your local computer, so this could easily fill up your HD if you are trying to back it all up. However, they are planning on adding "cache limits" to future versions, so I'd love to know if Super Duper would work!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-26-2006, 09:06 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,764
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I think the local caching could cause problems when trying to back up (since you'd likely be backing up the cache as well), and -- as with iDisk -- the speed over the WAN is unlikely to be fast enough to be practical.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-26-2006, 09:25 AM
Luhmann Luhmann is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Well, Super Duper can filter out the cache folder - so that shouldn't be a problem.

Speed also isn't a problem, since Jungle Disk works as a local intermediary (they cache the file directory info and then upload in the background using some kind of P2P protocol or something of the sort).

I tried using a demo copy of ChronoSync and it was very fast. But there are reports on the Jungle Disk forums that Super Duper doesn't work well. Some people recommend Rsync as well. But it seems to me that if ChronSync and Rsync can do it, Super Duper should be able to do it as well!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-26-2006, 10:04 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,764
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You're welcome to try, of course. Yes, we can filter out the cache folder... my guess, though, is that you'll have to use a sparse image (unless Jungle Disk makes it look like a local HFS+ volume). Since that whole image will look changed, it'll cost a lot to do the data transfer, and be slow...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-26-2006, 10:32 AM
Luhmann Luhmann is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Yeah, looks like I'll be paying $30 to get ChronoSync! Thanks though. I still love SuperDuper for my local FW backups!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-26-2006, 10:44 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,764
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK, Luhmann. Sorry to disappoint.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
eaten disk space? rossb General 4 06-01-2006 11:07 PM
Disk Clone not showing up in Boot Startup list richardl General 7 03-11-2006 07:28 PM
SuperDuper Backup of AES 128 Encrypted Disk Image rwg4 General 3 11-30-2005 11:28 AM
Error in cloning minimac to disk image macWish General 3 10-20-2005 09:29 PM
Disk Utility problem after cloning macWish General 38 10-01-2005 02:08 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.