Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-21-2010, 12:54 PM
joec joec is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 9
Safari launches when clone boots-not open onoriginal

Since I upgraded to 10.6.2 and Safari 4.x i have been having trouble with autosleep not working. In trying to resolve this I have noticed that, even when i make sure that Safari is closed by force quitting on my internal drive before cloning, Safari opens on boot up from the clone. If I then restart from my internal hard drive, Safari does not open on boot.

My system is not set to launch Safari on boot. It has never been set to do that. Any idea what might be going on? (don't know if this has anything to do with autosleep)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-21-2010, 03:34 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,815
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Check your list of programs set in login items. I'm guessing you have one or more items that were deleted at some point, and you have 'dead entries' in the list.

When you boot up from the copy, the alias manage tries to resolve the alias as best it can, and for some reason it's deciding to open Safari...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-21-2010, 06:03 PM
joec joec is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 9
I'll chech that. My installation is leopard over tiger and snow leopard over that. so who knows what is lurking? But shouldn't both the clone and the cloned drives behave the same?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-21-2010, 06:18 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,815
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, because it knows the alias is 'dead' on the source, but when copied, you're on a different volume and it's reevaluating it...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Files open when weekly boot drive SD clone created nephdoc General 1 01-19-2010 04:14 PM
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
New sparse image clone won't open kny General 4 02-12-2009 08:01 PM
clone boots - hangs after desktop picture clarencest10 General 3 03-20-2007 08:58 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.