Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-21-2005, 06:25 PM
dzevans dzevans is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2
Transferring to a new startup drive

Greetings!

I have a PowerMac G4 with MacOS 10.3.8, and my startup disk is rather small (40 gb as I recall). It's almost completely filled up with apps, photos, music, etc. So I am planning on purchasing a larger HD, and installing that as the startup disk. Here's what I want to do:

- Clone absolutely *everything* on my current Macintosh HD to a new drive
- Name the new startup disk the same as the old one ("Macintosh HD")
- Take out the old (small) startup disk, boot up from the new one, and have everything work magically and happily

Is it fairly reasonable to expect to be able to do this? Will SuperDuper be able to do these things for me without too much trial and error? I'm a pretty tech savvy guy, but fiddling around with startup disks is not something I've had to do before, so I want to make sure I do it right.

Any advice and comments are greatly appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-21-2005, 06:29 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,921
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Yes -- this shouldn't be a problem at all!

Check out the Appendix in the User's Guide: it goes through the process of repartitioning -- with a full clone -- in some detail. You'll do the same, without the partitioning. It's really not too hard. Just make sure you name the disk the same, as you said, and make sure everything looks good before you dump that old drive.

Good luck -- let us know how it works out!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-21-2005, 06:39 PM
dzevans dzevans is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2
Thanks for the info! I'm hoping to have a new drive next week, and I'll try the full clone as soon as possible. I'll report back with how it goes.

cheers,
Zach
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-22-2005, 07:28 PM
mikel mikel is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6
Rename?

Sorry if this is an elementary question...

But in the manual and here it is stongly suggested that the new drive to be used as the startup drive be given the same name as the one that WAS used previously.

Why is that?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-22-2005, 07:45 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,921
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Because applications often store references to files and folders as "aliases", and aliases have the volume name encoded in them. If you don't name a clone the same as the original, and boot from it when the volume named the original name is available, the alias will resolve to that volume rather than the clone. That's probably not what you want!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-22-2005, 08:52 PM
mikel mikel is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6
OK - great info, thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-27-2005, 06:05 PM
sjk's Avatar
sjk sjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eugene
Posts: 252
Is it also possible that after booting a cloned volume with the same name as an original volume that's online, then booting the original volume again while the same-named clone is online, data might be unintentionally referenced on the cloned volume instead of the original volume? (whew!)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
trying to boot at startup from backup esuebrown General 9 04-30-2005 01:35 PM
Removing partitions sliderule53 General 5 02-13-2005 07:11 PM
XServe "clone" from Mirrored RAID to single drive gthoennes General 3 04-16-2004 06:00 PM
Installations Pete_Bull General 7 04-14-2004 06:12 PM
The drive I want to copy is grey! What do I do? - Here's help. dnanian General 0 01-15-2004 09:06 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.