Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-17-2006, 05:03 PM
mosx86 mosx86 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Scheduled Backups?

I've got SuperDuper configured to do a backup 1 day a week, but it's not doing the back up. Does SuperDuper actually have to be running? This particular host sits at the login screen and nobody should be logged into it. How do I get SuperDuper to perform the backup?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-17-2006, 05:08 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Although SD! doesn't have to be running, you do need to be logged in. But the logged in account doesn't have to be privileged, and you can lock the screen with a screen saver... just authenticate (unlock) SD! with an administrator account/password.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-17-2006, 06:41 PM
mosx86 mosx86 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Although SD! doesn't have to be running, you do need to be logged in. But the logged in account doesn't have to be privileged, and you can lock the screen with a screen saver... just authenticate (unlock) SD! with an administrator account/password.
Would it be possible to get it going with a cron job? I'd rather not leave any users privileged or not, logged in with just the screen saver lock.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-17-2006, 06:44 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, it does run with a cron job, just a user level one. If you enable the root user and schedule with them, it will run at the login screen, but that's more of a security risk...

Note, too, that a screensaver lock is basically done with the loginwindow process, so it's just as secure. And if the user is unprivileged, they can't really do anything should they break that level of security. (And, if they can break that security, they could log in anyway.)
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-17-2006, 11:46 PM
mosx86 mosx86 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Well, it does run with a cron job, just a user level one. If you enable the root user and schedule with them, it will run at the login screen, but that's more of a security risk...

Note, too, that a screensaver lock is basically done with the loginwindow process, so it's just as secure. And if the user is unprivileged, they can't really do anything should they break that level of security. (And, if they can break that security, they could log in anyway.)
It'd be great if SuperDuper could run sans GUI. Thnx!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Feature request: "Run scheduled backups NOW" option ChicagoLarry General 1 09-11-2006 12:29 PM
Scheduled Backups with Fast User Switching greengrass General 1 08-02-2006 04:24 PM
scheduled backups are not running katachi General 3 06-21-2006 12:53 PM
Flaky execution of scheduled backups? No Sat. AM in "Daily"? DrDan in MA General 32 04-22-2006 05:47 PM
"Run Now" option for scheduled backups scott a General 3 03-02-2006 10:47 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.