Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 2.33 average. Display Modes
  #31  
Old 01-13-2014, 08:48 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
And the backup itself was fine?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 01-13-2014, 08:51 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
To expand on this - we've done an awful lot of testing on Mavericks, both before and after its release - and I've never seen anything like this (not just on Mavericks, but on any other release). It sounds like the files are there.

When you did the restore, did you erase the volume and restore, or did you try to restore over the existing "clean" install with Smart Update?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 01-14-2014, 11:29 AM
todivefor todivefor is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 28
I thought the backup was fine, but I must have been moving too fast. I just booted the external USB once again and it shows the same thing. See attachments. I then noticed that something was crashing repeatedly. I have attached the log. It looks to me like the restore worked, but the backup is bad. This external had a ML backup on it prior to my Mavericks backup. I did a copy all files which should have erased the ML backup. I looked to see if I had the SD log, but in all the backing up and restoring, it got lost in the shuffle. It looks to me like the backup did a smart backup instead of an erase. I can not rule out user error. I'll try the backup again, but before I overwrite what I have, is there anything you would like me to do?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Mavericks SysPref.jpg (55.6 KB, 616 views)
File Type: jpg SD Backup SysPref.jpg (57.0 KB, 602 views)
Attached Files
File Type: txt CrashReport.txt (31.4 KB, 904 views)
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 01-14-2014, 11:32 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Have you tried booting in "Safe Boot" (Shift from power on to the desktop) to see if that helps?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 01-14-2014, 12:41 PM
todivefor todivefor is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 28
I tried "safe mode", same result. I just noticed in playing with SD, I had lost my registration. I dug out the info and re-registered my copy. Could operating with an unregistered copy cause this?
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 01-14-2014, 02:54 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, we would never create a weird copy if you were unregistered. I'm trying to reproduce what you're seeing here, and I'm completely unable to so far.

It almost looks like the OS was damaged on the original drive, but that damage was masked by caching or something. We copied what was there, and since it had to rebuild the caches, the problem was exposed.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 01-15-2014, 05:41 PM
todivefor todivefor is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 28
I did another SD backup on the same system that I had restored with TM. My external USB appears to boot just fine and everything appears to be as should be. Sure can't explain other result.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 01-15-2014, 07:43 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Me neither. Really weird - but, seriously. File systems go wonk. Things can happen. It's great to have multiple backups and to use multiple methods, as I've written many times.

I wish I understood what, exactly, happened here - obviously, if it's our fault, I'd love to fix it. But I don't know what the problem could be. Still trying to reproduce without success (which is obviously both fortunate and unfortunate).

Anyway, for others following along, it's always good to have lots of backups. As I've said, SuperDuper! Is a great complement to Time Machine... and if something goes wrong with one or the other, it's unlikely to go wrong with both.

Disk space is cheap... make use of that, and protect yourself as much as is sensible.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 02-13-2014, 02:14 PM
TimLawson TimLawson is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 12
2.7.2

Any news on 2.7.2 please Dave? Long time no blog post...
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 02-13-2014, 02:15 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
So close...storm's throwing a wrench into things, since I don't want to release when I might lose power and not be able to reply to people...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 02-14-2014, 12:55 PM
TimLawson TimLawson is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
So close...storm's throwing a wrench into things, since I don't want to release when I might lose power and not be able to reply to people...
Oooh - sounds exciting. But yes, of course - priority no. 1 is to stay safe out there. Very windy and wet here in UK too...
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 03-05-2014, 06:47 AM
macWish macWish is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 75
Copy Job problems

I was having no problems with scheduled copies of SD! 2.7.1 with 10.9.1 and Applets checked in Privacy Panel of Security & Privacy. however, after updating to SD! 10.7.2 and OS X 10.9.2, the Copy Job dialog appears whenever SD! launches to perform a scheduled copy. SD! requires me to click the OK button on Copy Job dialog before proceeding. If I don't click OK, SD! quits without performing the scheduled copy.
There are 3 Applets, all checked, in the Privacy Panel and I have, for other reasons, deleted all the scheduled copies and set up a new schedule.
When I unchecked all 3 Applets, SD! launched and started a scheduled copy without the Copy Job dialog appearing.
Are the Applets no longer necessary in SD! 2.7.2?
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 03-05-2014, 07:57 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Did you delete and recreate your schedules? The Applet entries shouldn't have any effect any more - I don't know why they'd cause a Copy Job dialog to appear...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 03-05-2014, 09:15 AM
macWish macWish is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Did you delete and recreate your schedules? The Applet entries shouldn't have any effect any more - I don't know why they'd cause a Copy Job dialog to appear...
I deleted and recreated the schedule. Copy Job no longer appears. Is there a simple way to remove the Applets, since they are not activated?
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 03-05-2014, 09:19 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
There's a ways to reset the entire Accessibility database with a command-line utility...send me some email.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.