Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-28-2022, 06:46 PM
fork fork is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 11
Big Sur bootable backup

I finally made the jump to Big Sur a few months ago on a 2020 iMac and I've been happily doing backups with SD and CCC. As you know CCC outright states they can't back up any Big Sur or later systems as bootable backups. But I must have misunderstood something I read stating that SD had figured out a way around this.

Today I tried to boot from a freshly made Big Sur backup (using SD) residing on an external SSD drive and found it was impossible. I had used your 3.6 so I Googled and found an entry in your blog about 3.7 which stated 3.7 is "fully compatible with Big Sur, Monterey, and Ventura, the latest releases of macOS, is Apple silicon native, and produces fully bootable HFS+ and APFS backups faster and easier than ever."

"Fully bootable" sounded good.

I tried 3.7. Same problem - couldn't choose it in System Preferences > Startup Disk.

So after more research found your Oct 17 blog post that pointed the finger at Apple.

OK, now I'm trying to understand how this might work.

I have this recent backup on an SSD. Do I run the Big Sur installer and choose the SSD as target and after that's done, I can boot from it?

If yes, can I use a newer version of the installer (11.7.1)? The backup of have uses Big Sur 11.6

Are there other monsters lurking in the hidden recesses of that backup that will prevent booting from it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-28-2022, 06:48 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,854
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
As indicated in the blog post, you need to use Option+Boot (or Power+Boot on Apple silicon). to boot, since the snapshot has to be created in a secure environment.

See this post: https://www.shirtpocket.com/blog/ind...ot_a_marathon/
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-29-2022, 04:19 PM
fork fork is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 11
Erase?

I tried using my SSD backup drive plugged into the back of my iMac as the boot drive. It was formatted correctly etc. but when I option-boot I don't see it as a boot drive - just the internal Apple drive.

Since I made the initial backup months ago, I'm not sure if I actually did Step 2 in your directions.


"2. Then, make an initial Erase, then copy backup. Erase, then copy is selected in Options under During copy."


If it's already formatted in Disk Utility, why would you need to choose Erase again?

I'm guessing that's the key to my boot problem but I'd like to know why it's required.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-29-2022, 04:20 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,854
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Because, as indicated in the post, the OS is copied with the replicator. The replicator runs when you do an erase-then-copy (because it fully whacks the destination; we wouldn't want to run it during Smart Update).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-30-2022, 11:27 AM
fork fork is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 11
Success!

The Erase, then copy worked. I didn't do the Disk Utility step since this drive had been formatted correctly before the original backup. Option-boot now let me choose the backup as boot disk and it worked normally.

I thought it was interesting that after booting to the backup, the Internal Apple SSD that I had backed up from didn't show up in System Preferences > Startup Disk. The internal drive still worked when I Option-booted back to it.

Thanks for your patient help.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-30-2022, 03:45 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,854
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Indeed, I've mentioned that at the blog before... glad you figured it out.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Startup Disc and Hard Drive Partitioning Questions Paint Guy General 15 10-27-2010 02:25 PM
Bootable backup over the network? etanter General 9 07-24-2009 08:23 AM
Drive not Bootable After User Backup tomjwright General 6 06-11-2009 05:49 AM
How do I store a bootable backup side-by-side with my Time Machine data? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 02-07-2008 06:36 PM
Backup Not Bootable Dash General 1 06-19-2007 04:59 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.