Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-05-2008, 10:51 PM
jchiar jchiar is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 10
time machine backups?

Hi Dave,

You state 2 things.

1) The new version includes full Leopard support, including the ability to store a bootable backup side-by-side with a Time Machine backup on a single volume

2) ability to copy Time Machine archives to other drives for backup purposes or to move to a larger drive without losing history.

Could u explain how this is done? Didnt see anything in the manual or FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-05-2008, 11:06 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No tricks: just use "Backup - all files" with "Smart Update" in the first case, and either "Smart Update" or "Erase, then copy" in the 2nd.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-05-2008, 11:10 PM
mac-10 mac-10 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 20
But if you do Smart Update to your existing Time Machine drive, won't it delete the Time Machine files because they don't currently exist on the source drive?

mac-10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-05-2008, 11:18 PM
tiborg tiborg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
I'm assuming SD is smart enough to recognize the TM folder and not get rid of it, but this means you'll need a disk large enough to hold both your SD backup and the whole TM history.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-05-2008, 11:21 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Not if you don't do "Erase, then copy". See the "What's going to happen?" section of the UI.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-05-2008, 11:56 PM
mac-10 mac-10 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 20
OK, with "Backup - all files" and "Smart Update Dest from Src" ,

the "What's going to happen" screen includes "Smart Update will copy an erase what's needed to make Dest identical to your selections from Src."

So, will it erase the existing "Backups.backupdb" directory and all its contents since it does not appear on Src?

Also, ACL's aren't mentioned anywhere in the User Guide.pdf. When do I want to turn on "Copy ACL's"?

mac-10
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-06-2008, 12:46 AM
tiborg tiborg is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 3
I think dnanian is referring to the paragraph above that in the GUI where it says: "The Time Machine backups on TimeMachineData will be preserved." TimeMachineData being the name of my TM disk.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-06-2008, 12:33 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
tiborg is exactly right. ACLs are "Access Control Lists" and are a default part of Leopard. They should be on unless you have a good reason to turn them off.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-06-2008, 10:41 PM
lucy lucy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
No tricks: just use "Backup - all files" with "Smart Update" in the first case, and either "Smart Update" or "Erase, then copy" in the 2nd.
Hello Dave: Thank you for all your work on updating SD. I have been waiting for it with great anticipation. I would appreciate it if you could be more detailed in explaining exactly how SD integrates and works alongside TimeMachine. I know that it probably seems very simple but in my mind it appears very complicated. Could you elaborate on this topic in more detail? Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-06-2008, 10:56 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I'm not sure I understand what's very complicated, lucy: could you ask a more directed question?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-06-2008, 10:58 PM
lucy lucy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by jchiar View Post
Hi Dave,

You state 2 things.

1) The new version includes full Leopard support, including the ability to store a bootable backup side-by-side with a Time Machine backup on a single volume

2) ability to copy Time Machine archives to other drives for backup purposes or to move to a larger drive without losing history.

Could u explain how this is done? Didnt see anything in the manual or FAQ
More about TM and SD. During Tiger times I used SD to back up my internal hard drive to another hard drive. Now that I am on Leopard ( on an Intel MacPro) I want to follow the same pattern and backup my hard drive with SD 2.5 . I use a separate external hard drive as my Time Machine destination. I do not want to mix my timemachine backup drive with my SD backup drive. Do I have to suspend the TimeMachine application while Super Duper is doing its backup? What happens if TimeMachine is doing its thing while SuperDuper is doing a backup of the hard drive at the same time? In essence, SuperDuper is going to be backing up a hard drive while that hard drive is engaged in running the TimeMachine application !! Will this interfere with the SD backup? Thanks,
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-06-2008, 11:00 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, you don't have to do anything different.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-06-2008, 11:06 PM
lucy lucy is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
No, you don't have to do anything different.
Ok Dave. Thank you. I will use it for the first time tonight.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
backup file size—SD vs. Time Machine jotaro General 10 06-23-2009 10:00 AM
SuperDuper and Leopard if not using Time Machine edesignuk General 3 02-03-2008 06:41 AM
Will Time Machine make SuperDuper obsolete? JAC II General 9 11-07-2007 03:54 PM
A different angle on SD & Time Machine integration badlydrawnboy General 10 10-26-2007 08:37 PM
How will SuperDuper! integrate with Time Machine? Felix General 15 10-23-2007 03:55 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.