Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-30-2008, 01:13 PM
Enigmacode
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Super Duper 2.1.4 Clone?

Hello all

I have version 2.1.4

I was under the impression that when copying files from an external HD, a clone was made, with same name of the external disk drive?

Let me explain;
I have 5 Lacie external drives with video files of a documentary I've been working on. Each drive is labeled Lacie 1, Lacie 2, and so forth. I recently copied files from one of them and all the individual folders, (within that drive), were copied to another back up drive. I guess I need to make a main folder and move all those files manually over myself in the back up drive?

Only thing, Final Cut sometimes has difficulty in reconnecting media from another drive. But I guess I'll have to deal with that.


Thanx
Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-30-2008, 01:22 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I'm not quite sure I understand what you mean. SuperDuper! copies the file on the volume you select to another volume. It doesn't copy the volume's name, nor does the whole disk get copied -- just the selected volume/partition...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-30-2008, 04:44 PM
Enigmacode
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Hi Dave

Thanx for the response

I guess I'll need to go into the backed up drive, (where all the data was backed up to), and move all the individual folders that were copied, manually into a MAIN folder and call it/label it, the name of the original drive from where the data came from. The folders need to be separated according to what drive they came from, since I need to back up 5 separate external drives, and one secondary internal drive.

The designated back up drive is a single ONE TB drive, (capable of storing all the contents from all 5 external drives), and the secondary internal drive.

Know what I mean?

Last edited by Enigmacode; 07-30-2008 at 04:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-30-2008, 05:53 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You'd want to partition that destination drive into five partitions, actually -- don't try to use folders, because it won't work...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-30-2008, 09:38 PM
Enigmacode
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Hi Dave

Thanx again

Dave, can Super Duper do that? Or do I need to use Disc Utility?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-30-2008, 10:38 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
We can't partition, no: Disk Utility does that. But we're happy to do the copy.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows equivalent to SuperDuper!? jreffner General 21 08-13-2009 05:36 PM
The legend of HiroProtagonist, the Leopard, and Super Duper! hiroProtagonist General 4 11-06-2007 08:47 AM
Initial Super Duper! Settings greengrass General 1 08-14-2006 10:40 PM
Super Duper problem, won't erase target drive maxwell_photo General 3 11-24-2005 09:34 AM
Super Duper Clone and Virtual PC jettrue General 3 09-23-2005 04:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.