Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-06-2007, 09:58 PM
levytv levytv is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
Question striped raid on intel mac mini

i am currently superduping my startup disk to a striped raid. there was no option to do the guid partition that you can do without a raid that is the preferred setup for an intel mac. when my cloning is done will my backup drive boot without the guid partitioning?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-06-2007, 10:28 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,827
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I'm not sure, actually. You'll have to let us know.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-06-2007, 10:33 PM
levytv levytv is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
Thumbs up

thanks for the quick response. when the cloning is done - many hours from now - i will let you know.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-08-2007, 01:46 AM
levytv levytv is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
Unhappy

well it created a bootable raid but superduper or some process/procedure changed it to a mirror raid where i had created it as a striped raid.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-08-2007, 07:31 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,827
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
SuperDuper! definitely doesn't change the RAID format... are you sure you verified it was a striped RAID before you started?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-08-2007, 10:47 AM
levytv levytv is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
Cool

i'm going to try the procedure again today. i was also thinking about softraid. i will let you know how it all comes out.

levytv
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-08-2007, 07:46 PM
levytv levytv is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
the superduping is still going - but the speed is much faster than the first time - so i must have formatted it in the mirror mode as opposed to the stripe mode.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-08-2007, 10:30 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,827
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Definitely sounds like it!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-08-2007, 10:59 PM
levytv levytv is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 6
Smile

i am very pleased to report that after 8 hours of superduping - the 400gigs went to the striped raid and was able to boot from the striped raid on a mac mini. thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I clone an Intel Tiger boot volume using PPC SD? PaulMBCA General 3 11-20-2006 08:46 AM
Imaging PPC and Intel from one image thegooch49 General 1 10-30-2006 07:08 PM
SuperDuper! and RAID 1 UWS General 2 10-27-2006 11:57 AM
Clone PowerBook to Mini? PhilipTobias General 11 02-05-2006 10:36 AM
Mac Mini as dedicated iTunes Server Dr.Blueberry General 7 07-30-2005 01:31 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.