Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-25-2007, 06:24 PM
mypointofview mypointofview is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 41
Sandbox and FruitMenu

I backed up my system to a Sandbox partition (another partition on my drive to which I backed up using SuperDuper's sandbox feature "Shared users and applications"). I then started up from that Sandbox partition and updated the OS (using a standalone combo updater). I wanted to explore if there are any problems for me because of the OS upgrade.

I discovered an incompatibility of OS X 10.4.10 with FruitMenu (*). I therefore did not upgrade the MacOS on my main partition and went back to that original partition continuing on 10.4.8. The Sandbox feature of SuperDuper is therefore useful.

However, as it turned out later, the problem with the OS update was only on the sandbox partition! I found out because I later ran the OS update on a full featured backup of my system, on a mirror of my main drive. The said problem did not exist anymore.

I conclude that there is something very particular (and strange) happening when running a System via Aliases (or Symbolic Links ?) where the home folder is accessed via an Alias.

I know it would be easy to blame Unsanity in this case - but their software works FINE with SuperDuper! (when not on a Sandbox partition).

The effect which I discovered defeats the whole purpose of Sandbox and makes me wonder: What if also other glitches which I could discover (running from Sandbox) only happen on Sandbox but are fine when running in standard mode ?


-Martin

(*) When accessing an empty folder from FruitMenu, Finder crashes. Normally a grayed out item would show in the sub menu (I think saying "empty folder"), but FruitMenu seems to have problems finding anything and causes Finder to crash. The problem should be able to be reproduced.

Last edited by mypointofview; 06-25-2007 at 06:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-25-2007, 06:39 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
There shouldn't be: a Sandbox's Home folder is very much the same as a Network Home folder or even a FileVault...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-25-2007, 08:53 PM
mypointofview mypointofview is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 41
Theoretically

In reality however my problem exists - and with it my perception of the "Sandbox".

In reality therefore I can only assume that if it WORKS on Sandbox that it's OK also for the main drive. If it does NOT work on Sandbox (in my example) it does not automatically mean that it won't work on the main drive...

-Martin

Last edited by mypointofview; 06-25-2007 at 08:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-26-2007, 01:55 PM
mypointofview mypointofview is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 41
I now updated my main volume to the latest Mac OS (10.4.10) and there's no problem with FruitMenu. The problem is only on the Sandbox volume.

What's going on here? Anybody else seeing this?

Remember, the problem is only when on Sandbox partition, and when a folder in the FruitMenu menu is EMPTY. FruitMenu does not show the grayed out "Empty Folder" info but tries to find something, then Finder crashes.

I'm on a G4 dual 500MHz and use the latest FruitMenu 3.64. My main system comes from an attached FireWire 400 drive with about 45GB of space left. The sandbox partition is on the same drive and has about 10GB space left. The name of my main drive consists of no international characters (name is "Factory"). The name of my Sandbox partition is "Sandbox Factory". My home folder has 755 and all folders inside have 700 as permissions (except of course "Sites" and "Public"). Owner is yours truly and Group is set to admin. My account is an admin account.

So why is the problem?? The problem should be easy to be reproduced. Can anybody verify -- Is it just me?!


-Martin

PS: I tried to install FruitMenu for "all users" but this did NOT help. It's really strange. Because for example when I create a new user on the Sandbox partition and then install FruitMenu for only that new user it also works FINE. Therefore I conclude that the "path" is somewhat the problem -- so i put the ball in Dave's court -- I have contacted Unsanity too however.

Last edited by mypointofview; 06-26-2007 at 04:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.