Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-16-2022, 07:37 PM
BudSimrin BudSimrin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 39
Question Two Macintosh HD backups in one APFS Container

I have recently upgraded from Mojave to Big Sur. I erased and partitioned an external HD to have one container with 7 volumes. 5 of the volumes are SD backups of various data disks, but 2 of them are backups of MacintoshHD. In both the Startup Disk preference pane and when I do an option boot, only one of the two MacintoshHD backups appear.

In the Shirt Pocket best practices it says "format the backup drive as APFS, and use APFS's very flexible "volumes" as your backup destinations, one per source volume". I guess I have two volumes for a single source. Is that the reason only one of them boots?

Can I fix this problem by creating a 2nd container (on the same external HD) and putting the 2nd backup there?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-16-2022, 07:43 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Are you sure you made an erase-then-copy backup of both? Sounds like one may be a Smart Update.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2022, 09:11 AM
BudSimrin BudSimrin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 39
Oh. I missed that. Thank you. I am still using Smart Update.

I'll change all my SD backups to erase-then-copy.

What about the data disks? Is smart update still OK for those?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-17-2022, 09:14 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Erase-then-copy doesn't have to be used for every copy. Only when you want to copy or update the OS. See this post:

https://www.shirtpocket.com/blog/ind...ot_a_marathon/
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-17-2022, 09:33 AM
BudSimrin BudSimrin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 39
So, if I have one-time erased-then-copied, unless there is a system update, I can then smart copy.

Except... if I want to create a schedule and then forget about it, I would be best off erasing-then-copying my MacintoshHD every time.

Feature request? Could SD check if a given backup requires system files, and if there has been a system update,then SD would choose the appropriate backup? I am thinking that Apple must leave itself a message somewhere of the system status.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-17-2022, 09:51 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, you'd be better off scheduling a Smart Update. You can always add a system or just restore the data, but if a drive fails during an erase, you'd lose the backup.

And that's why we don't do what you're suggesting. Unlike Catalina and earlier, we cannot update "just" the system without wiping the entire backup. Doing so is more dangerous than NOT doing so.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2 bootable backups, apfs, big sur


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Copy to APFS container or volume? DavidCB General 1 06-22-2021 09:01 PM
restoring from sparsebundle to APFS jefferyn General 5 05-23-2021 03:11 PM
Can't Boot filip3311 General 3 01-04-2009 01:50 PM
BackUp hangs at 3% JimK General 10 09-27-2005 09:48 AM
Error Halted Backup! GadgetFan General 13 09-09-2005 08:46 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.