Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-14-2019, 03:51 PM
Mojo Mojo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 63
Disabling Startup Mode Security Mac With T2 Chip

I am getting ready to setup a refurb 2018 Mac Mini. I'm aware that starting-up from a bootable clone is impossible without entering Recovery Mode and disabling startup security mode.

What I haven't been able to find out is whether this can only be done on a incident-basis or whether I can perform this task one time and I will be able to boot from a startup disk forever.

My concern is that if it can only be done when a problem arises, if Recovery Mode is not accessible for some reason, then the bootable clone won't be usable either.

I can appreciate some of the inherent advantages of the T2 chip but there are some considerable downsides as well. (Has anyone heard if Apple has addressed the audio glitch affecting Macs with a T2 chip?) I may have decided against this Mac Mini purchase if I had been better informed about the T2 chip issues. . .
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-14-2019, 03:58 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
It's a NVRAM setting and need only be done one time.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-15-2019, 02:15 PM
Mojo Mojo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 63
Thanks Dave.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-2019, 11:58 AM
picaman picaman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 18
I have a new Mac mini with the T2 chip and Iíve been doing a daily backup to an external drive using the latest version of Super Duper. Trying to understand this - is my backup unusable unless I go into recovery mode and change the settings?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-2019, 12:54 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,814
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You can't boot from an external device unless you turn on the ability in recovery. The backup itself is fine, but the system won't allow boot until you allow it.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-01-2019, 01:17 PM
picaman picaman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
You can't boot from an external device unless you turn on the ability in recovery. The backup itself is fine, but the system won't allow boot until you allow it.
OK so if I don’t allow it, in the event of a internal disk crash I could still restore to a new disk/computer as long as it had an OS on it?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.