Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-18-2005, 04:42 PM
Alison Alison is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
Files already on External hard drive

Hi,
I have just downloaded SuperDuper and went to back up. I discovered that my hard drive was showing in the drop down list but was greyed out.

I had a look around on here and discovered that I may need to reformat my hard drive.

Now me not being very techie I need to ask a few questions.

I have a 250gb Lacie external hard drive. I want to use it to back up my PC and Mac laptops. I already have my PC ghost copy on there and I have a few Mac files on it as well. I don't want to reformat or I will lose all of the files I have on there already, is there any way I can do a full back up of my Mac without having to lose these files, bearing in mind that at the mo' the hard drive is showing in the drop down list greyed out?

Cheers Alison.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-18-2005, 04:58 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,921
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Unfortunately, Alison, no. Your drive is likely formatted as FAT32, and thus can't even store an image > 4GB. So... there's little you can do but dedicate the drive to your PC or your Mac... but not both.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-18-2005, 05:43 PM
Alison Alison is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
OK, thanks for that. Big decision to be made, I have a 20gb hard drive in an enclosure I suppose I could use that for now. Shame, I wanted to use my lovely Lacie one for both.

Cheers Alison.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-18-2005, 05:51 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,921
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Well, you *sort of* can. If you format as HFS+ and then use Windows File Sharing to serve the drive from the Macintosh, the Mac will let the PC use the files, without the limitations of FAT32.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-03-2006, 04:02 PM
doug doug is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1
same problem?

Hi there,

I think I have the same problem mentioned here. I have a Maxtor OneTouch II that I use to share files between my Mac and my wife's PC. I'd also like to use it to back up each computer.

I have it formatted as FAT32 at the moment. At first I thought I could create a FAT32 partition (for shared files) and a Mac partition for the Mac backup. I can't seem to figure out how to do this ... perhaps because it isn't possible?

Any ideas? SuperDuper looks like a great program - I hope I get to use it!

Thanks,

Doug
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-03-2006, 04:56 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,921
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Unfortunately, Doug, you can't really do it. A FAT32 formatted volume has inherent limitations (4GB file size), and a Windows-partitioned drive can't host an HFS+ formatted volume as one of the partitions.

What you *could* do is format it for the Mac, and then use the Mac's Windows File Sharing to make a partition available over the network for your Wife...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-12-2006, 11:08 AM
rbraley rbraley is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 4
What about an NTFS format drive? I have a new WD MyBook 500 that I want to use to back up both an XP windows machine and my Mac for offsite storage.

I reformatted the drive to NTFS while on the XP machine. It mounts on my Mac desktop fine, but it's greyed out in in the SuperDuper drop down box. Do I need to set up partitions on it for each machine?

I can do the network approach you describe, but it'd be a lot easier for me if I could just move the MyBook from one machine to the other and use Firewire connections.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-12-2006, 12:08 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,921
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You can't write to NTFS volumes from OSX: it's not supported.

What I'd suggest is partitioning the drive with GUID, on the Mac. I believe that if you then leave one partition for your NTFS volume, and format one for HFS+, you'll be able to use the appropriate volume for the appropriate computer.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard drive size needed for backup? Hoosier_1701 General 8 05-20-2006 08:49 AM
Partitioning Backup hard drive??? Lee General 13 11-30-2005 11:32 AM
Hard drive recommendation / backing up PB 17' Loopy C General 3 10-28-2005 11:47 AM
Partition an external hard drive problem andrew_aes General 1 05-25-2005 08:45 AM
Strategy for backing up two internal drives to one external drive? fredhoysted General 5 03-21-2005 10:00 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.