Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-22-2006, 12:43 PM
titib titib is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11
Backup from a network drive

Hello,

I have to make a backup from an network drive (formattet in HSF+) to a local drive (external usb disk).
But the network disk doesn't happear in the "From" menu. I looked in user guide but I didn't understood what to do to make a backup From a network drive.

Thanks a lot.

titib.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-22-2006, 12:45 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,923
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Unfortunately you can't with SuperDuper! -- we don't support backing up a network drive.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-22-2006, 12:54 PM
titib titib is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11
Anyway, to do this, the only way is to install SuperDuper! on the server, make my external usb drive, as a destination.
Is it possible like this?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-22-2006, 01:10 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,923
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
We can copy a local volume as long as it's formatted as HFS+ (Mac OS Extended). We can't back up directly from or to Network volumes, but we can back up *to* a disk image stored on a network volume, as described in the User's Guide. So, if you store a disk image on the USB drive (or connect it directly to the server), yes.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-23-2006, 11:28 AM
titib titib is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11
thanks a lot for yours answers.

I'm sorry to ask you this question, but why is it impossible to backup on network volumes? Is it so hard to code this kind of things?

titib
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-23-2006, 01:22 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,923
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Because you can't authorize against network volumes in a way that allows ownership and other metadata to be copied properly (unless you're running an "agent" on the networked computer that you can communicate with).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-23-2006, 01:24 PM
titib titib is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 11
thanks for you explanations.

titib
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best process to replace internal hard drive using SuperDuper!? emikysa General 26 02-09-2007 05:03 PM
Fw Drive Wont Boot Budgie General 3 11-05-2006 01:22 PM
Network drive won't auto mount Shamyl Zakariya General 7 06-05-2006 04:07 PM
Hard drive size needed for backup? Hoosier_1701 General 8 05-20-2006 07:49 AM
How to verify a Scheduled Backup? tuqqer General 3 12-06-2005 06:50 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.