Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

View Poll Results: What do you think of this change?
Works fine, a big improvement 6 75.00%
Doesn't impress me one way or another 2 25.00%
A step back - what were you thinking? 0 0%
Voters: 8. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-04-2006, 11:21 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Cool A "public beta" mount/unmount surprise for you.

Attached is a small preview from the next version of SuperDuper: a public beta of the new "schedule driver" that will automatically mount and unmount backup volumes without any manual intervention.

Note: the script will only automatically mount when you've got a backup directly targeted at a local volume. It does not handle the case where you have a sparse image stored on an unmounted local volume: at script time, I just don't have enough information to be able to handle that situation reliably. (Of course, SuperDuper! will continue to mount the intermediate volume automatically when you store the imag eon a network drive.)

Note that there may be some cases where identically named volumes don't work as expected: there's little I can do about that at present -- but this should improve most normal cases, while not degrading existing cases any further. (As you might expect, we never want to have regressions with a change like this.)

A small ZIP of the script is attached to this message. Unzip it, and then place the file inside SuperDuper!'s Resources folder, in the application bundle, replacing the one that's already there.

To get there, control-click on SuperDuper!, and choose "Show Package Contents". Then, navigate to Contents, then Resources, and there you'll find the existing "Copy Job Script.template".

Replace that with this one, and then (this is important) re-create your scheduled copies.

You can then unmount your backup drive, and it should automatically mount/copy/unmount if it's unmounted -- if mounted, it won't unmount at the end.

Enjoy, and let me know how it works for you.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Copy Job Script.template.zip (4.8 KB, 933 views)
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-05-2006, 09:22 AM
Pendragon Pendragon is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 39
Works as advertised on a DP 800/1.25 GB RAM, 10.4.6. Thanks Dave!
__________________
Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities. ~Voltaire
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-05-2006, 09:31 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
OK, one success. That's good, at least!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-07-2006, 12:31 AM
Michael@wengam Michael@wengam is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 68
Worked OK on a Quicksilver 733 MHz

This worked OK on my Quicksilver 733 Mhz PowerMac with 1 Gb RAM, OS 10.4.6, a Seritek/1S2 controller card and two 250 GB Hitachi SATA drives. A Smart Backup from the first partition on one drive to the matching partition on the other (originally unmounted) disk took 14 minutes to transfer only 300 MB of changed files out of 74 GB. After the backup the second drive got unmounted and the computer put itself to sleep. Just what I want! Thank you.

Q1: Is there an Applescript or something I can load as a startup item to automatically unmount the second drive for every day use unless SuperDuper calls for it?

Q2: I also want to automatically backup my laptop drive to a sparse disk image on the third partition of the desktop's startup drive. Is this the thing you are warning won't work? This partition is normally mounted anyway because it is on the startup disc. Following the instructions in the manual, I can have both computers scheduled to wake up at the same time, then SuperDuper will automatically connect to the desktop, mount the disk image and run a Smart Backup. SuperDuper on the laptop then unmounts the sparse image and sleeps the laptop, but it doesn't 'release' the file sharing connection to the desktop, and the desktop therefore will not sleep. As a result I find the desktop awake with all fans running the following morning and the laptop sleeping. My question is: how can I force the laptop to disconnect from file sharing to the desktop when the scheduled Smart Backup has finished? I suppose I could tell SuperDuper to completely shut down the laptop after the backup, but is there another way that would leave the laptop just sleeping?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-07-2006, 08:14 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Hi, Michael.

If you want to create a little program that will unmount a drive, you'd use Script Editor to create an Applescript application with the following content:

tell application "Finder" to eject disk "the-disk-name"

Save that as an application, and then set it as a startup item.

For your 2nd issue, you can save a disk image to a local drive that's mounted, no problem. The case I'm warning about is that we won't mount/unmount the volume an image is stored on.

Finally, what you could do for your last issue is schedule the copy, then uncheck the checkbox. Locate the scheduled copy in the Library/Application Support/SuperDuper!/Scheduled Copies folder. Control-click the settings package there, and show package contents. Edit the "Copy Job.applescript" with script editor, and add an eject statement for the network job in the "after copy" area at the top. It'd look just like the above, but with the network drive name.

Save the script, then go back to SuperDuper! and double-click the entry in the Scheduled Copies window. Check the box, and we'll compile the script for you. That should do it.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-07-2006, 11:03 AM
Michael@wengam Michael@wengam is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 68
Thanks, Dave. My applescript, saved as an application, ran without any visible result. But the Finder menu command "Eject volume-name" is anyway greyed out.
tell application "Finder"
eject "volume-name"
end tell
I can eject/unmount the volume by dragging its disk icon to the trash, however.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-20-2006, 09:11 AM
Gil Gil is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3
Mount/Unmount beta

Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian
Attached is a small preview from the next version of SuperDuper: a public beta of the new "schedule driver" that will automatically mount and unmount backup volumes without any manual intervention.
...
Enjoy, and let me know how it works for you.

Perfect! Exactly what I requested!

--Gil
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-20-2006, 09:29 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Great, Gil. It's in 2.1.1, so enjoy.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.