Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-09-2006, 10:37 AM
arnaud arnaud is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 34
Copy Newer, Copy Different ... one more question

Hi Dave, hello everyone.

I have searched the forum about this specific topic, learned some things (*) , but need to ask my own personal unique question

I have, what I believe to be, internal drive problems on my powerbook. So, a few weeks ago I've made one last (Smart Update) back-up before sending it to AppleCare.
Before sending it, I've erased, formatted and installed a brand new OSX, from scratch.
From there, I installed my apps back, with new settings and prefs, etc...
and... it's still running (although I still think the drive has problems).

NB: I have NOT put back everything from my backup to my internal drive.
So, some of my most important files are on the backup, not on my powerbook (since it was supposed to go to Applecare).


Obviously I have since made backups of this NEW install on another external drive.
That leaves me with (on two different external drives) :
-one old and complete backup of my very old OS and all of my files
-one new and partial backup of my brand new and clean OS.

Am I clear ?

What I would like to do know, is to backup this clean and new OS on this first external drive WITHOUT erasing these important files.
Obviously, it's not a "smart update" thing
I have to choose between Copy Newer or Copy Different.
From what I've read on the forum, it seems Copy Newer is better.

My two questions :
- Dave, do you confirm that I can do what I'm trying to here and that it won't erase my files?
- What option would you choose ?
(and basically what would you do ?)


(*)
<http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=102&highlight=copy+newer>
<http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=877&highlight=copy+newer>
<http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=716&highlight=copy+newer>
__________________
Arnaud

http://baragouine.net/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-09-2006, 10:46 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,921
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I'd make a new, complete backup to another drive, partition or sparse image, Arnaud. You've sort of managed to get yourself in a pickle by mixing up files and images all over the place.

You CANNOT use Copy Newer or Copy Different and expect to get a bootable backup, unless you isolate that update to just your User files, and even then you're going to get a mix of the two sets of files... probably not what you want (but maybe it is).
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-2006, 11:21 AM
arnaud arnaud is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 34
Ok, so I was completely wrong.

Basically, the best thing for me to do now, is to get all my files from the old backup, copy them (drag&drop) on my internal drive, check that I copied back everything, check and re-check again, then say goodbye to the old backup, say a prayer, and do a brand new backup.

Am I right now ?

Thanks again Dave.
__________________
Arnaud

http://baragouine.net/

Last edited by arnaud; 05-09-2006 at 11:37 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-09-2006, 11:40 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,921
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
That sounds about right, Arnaud!
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-09-2006, 11:49 AM
arnaud arnaud is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 34
Thanks again !
__________________
Arnaud

http://baragouine.net/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-09-2006, 02:34 PM
arnaud arnaud is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 34
Me again Dave, for one last question.
Could you tell me/us why a Copy Newer Files backup would NOT make a bootable copy ?

For educationnal purposes

Thanks
__________________
Arnaud

http://baragouine.net/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-09-2006, 05:30 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,921
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Because it'll copy a mix of OS, cache, settings and other files that won't necessarily be reasonable for booting.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SD! & HDD copy speed fun DaleMeyn General 3 03-20-2006 05:24 PM
Copy Newer? or Copy Different? Kathleen General 12 10-05-2005 02:38 AM
BackUp hangs at 3% JimK General 10 09-27-2005 10:48 AM
Error: No space left on device tradervic General 11 06-29-2005 05:50 PM
When I try to copy a single directory, I end up copying the whole disk. Why? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 06-22-2004 07:59 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.