Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-16-2009, 06:29 PM
zickzhou zickzhou is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 22
Back up destination

Hi There.
I have multiple Tigers/Leopards at my place and I would like to bring in a centralized back up system. However, instead of using one portable external HDD and plug/unplug each time for different macs, can I use a network attacheed storage raid box as a back up destination?


Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-16-2009, 07:17 PM
sjk's Avatar
sjk sjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eugene
Posts: 252
If the NAS RAID supports HFS+ volumes that can be mounted on your Macs then you could probably use them as targets (destinations) for SD!. Otherwise you'd could clone to different sparse image volumes.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-16-2009, 07:54 PM
zickzhou zickzhou is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjk View Post
If the NAS RAID supports HFS+ volumes that can be mounted on your Macs then you could probably use them as targets (destinations) for SD!. Otherwise you'd could clone to different sparse image volumes.
Thanks for replying.

Any idea on how to format a NAS Raid box to HFS format? 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-16-2009, 11:15 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,837
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Actually, you can't format a NAS RAID as HFS+, usually -- you'll use an image, as explained in "Backing up over a network" in the User's Guide.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-16-2009, 11:33 PM
sjk's Avatar
sjk sjk is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Eugene
Posts: 252
Thanks for chiming in, Dave. I wasn't sure what might be supported (or not).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-17-2009, 12:48 PM
zickzhou zickzhou is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
Actually, you can't format a NAS RAID as HFS+, usually -- you'll use an image, as explained in "Backing up over a network" in the User's Guide.
Thanks Dave
Can you please provide me the URL?

The raid box I purchased is DLINK DNS-323, and its on raid 1, and is in format ext1.

Any Idea? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-17-2009, 12:52 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,837
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
The User's Guide is in SuperDuper! - Help > User's Guide.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Back Up Without Erasing destination disk ny2la36 General 2 03-01-2009 09:35 PM
A SuperDuper Back Up Strategy Bagelturf General 3 09-09-2007 02:23 PM
3 source drives -> 1 dest drive -> 3 destination folders Leon General 1 06-04-2007 07:14 PM
Back up issues (slow) boboso General 5 08-11-2005 02:36 PM
How do I back up to a volume that has files on it? dnanian Frequently Asked Questions 0 05-02-2004 02:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.