Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-05-2008, 09:34 AM
padmavyuha padmavyuha is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 6
SD and Time Machine

Hello there

I have an enhancement request for SuperDuper - could you add an option to turn Time Machine off before cloning to another volume, and then turning it back on again? I've just once again had the disaster of booting into my clone drive to perform some maintenance on my startup volume, only to find that Time Machine has been updating itself from the external drive's bootup volume because it thinks it's still the current one. I know this is TM's crappiness, and not your app's fault for not noticing that the volume it's backing up from has a new name compared to last time (I've already had a worse case of this involving Techtool Pro's eDrive, but that's been fixed either by MicroMat or by Apple since then), but is there some way you could build in 'turn off TM before backup' so that when I boot into the clone, TM is already off over there?

Failing that, or meanwhile, is there a pre-flight command I can get SD to run that will do the same thing?

Yours hopefully,

- Padmavyuha
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-05-2008, 09:51 AM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,818
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
I've not seen that happen. Unfortunately, there's no documented interface for turning off Time Machine. But, if you add the backup drive to Time Machine's list of drives to ignore, it should certainly ignore it even if it's the startup drive.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-17-2008, 03:56 PM
Dave Dave is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
I do this in my pre script:

defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.TimeMachine AutoBackup -boolean NO

And this in my post script:

defaults write /Library/Preferences/com.apple.TimeMachine AutoBackup -boolean YES

It turns off Time Machine backups during the SuperDuper job and would presumably make them disabled on the backup drive if you were to boot from it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-17-2008, 04:25 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,818
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
But that's a preference that's not documented; we don't use that kind of thing, because behavior can change at Apple's whim...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-18-2008, 03:08 AM
Dave Dave is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Oh, I completely agree it wouldn't be appropriate to build that into SD. I was just giving a workaround that does seem to work for now.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-24-2008, 02:54 PM
rlfsoso rlfsoso is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 31
detailed HowTo please?

Hi,

even though Dave mentioned the "undocumented caveat", I'd like to implement that workaround. Unfortunately I have two problems:

1) I have to use the prebinding post-script

2a) I have no idea how to run/create that script you mentioned. Of course I can paste it into Terminal and run it, but how to create a script to be used with SD properly?

2b) How do I modify the prebinding-script if that is the way to go to again switch TimeMachine back on after cloning?

Thanks,

Rolf

PS: step-by-step instructions for non-geeky simpletons like me needed…
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-24-2008, 03:59 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,818
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You really don't need to do this, Rolf. They're not going to run significantly slower at the same time as they are back to back...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using SuperDuper for an offsite Time Machine backup toy General 1 07-26-2008 12:02 PM
Cloning from a backup and Time Machine Weirdness isaac General 3 03-27-2008 01:09 PM
Time Machine to an existing SD backup volume? scutchen General 1 02-22-2008 02:26 PM
Time Machine Behavior nkhester General 0 02-15-2008 03:53 PM
A different angle on SD & Time Machine integration badlydrawnboy General 10 10-26-2007 08:37 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.