Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-15-2008, 09:40 PM
lmatheo lmatheo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Cannot Boot from Sparse Image Backup

I am about to upgrade from Tiger to Leopard on an Intel MacBook. I've made a sparse image copy of the Macbook to a Buffalo 500GB USB 2.0 External HD.(because I have other stuff on the partition)

I have opened the image and tried to restart to the opened backup in order to test it before upgrading, but it cannot seem to find it. All I want to do is test the backup to make sure it works.

Can you help? Thanks in advance,
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-15-2008, 09:43 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You can't start up from a sparse image: it's not a real drive.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2008, 01:25 PM
lmatheo lmatheo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks for the reply. Why make a sparse image if you cannot boot from it in case of an emergency? Also, is there any way to make a bootable disk that has other files on it? Thanks again for the quick reply!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-16-2008, 01:57 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
Typically because you're under some constraint that forces you to use an image. We've always said that you should write directly to a drive if you can...

You can partition a drive to store files alongside your backup.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-16-2008, 09:28 PM
lmatheo lmatheo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Again, thanks for such a prompt reply. As you can see, I am pretty new to the Mac, so please forgive these stupid questions.

But, I was under the impression that I could not create a bootable drive if there were other files on it. You said that I can "partiition a drive to store files along side your backup". Does that mean if I have a partition already available with other files on it that I can copy my Macintosh HD over to it without erasing the drive first? Does that make sense?

I just don't want to erase the files on that hard drive because I don't have anywhere else to store those files without purchasing another hard drive. Again, thanks for all the advice.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-16-2008, 11:14 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,809
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No, it means you need to create a second partition on the drive to store a backup, or use an image. This is covered in the section of the User's Guide entitled "Storing a backup alongside other files on a destination drive".
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-17-2008, 11:48 AM
lmatheo lmatheo is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks, Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-23-2008, 12:11 PM
cavenewt cavenewt is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by lmatheo View Post
Thanks for the reply. Why make a sparse image if you cannot boot from it in case of an emergency? Also, is there any way to make a bootable disk that has other files on it? Thanks again for the quick reply!
So that if your original drive fails, you can clone the contents of the image back to a new replacement drive.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-11-2009, 02:57 AM
fred fred is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavenewt View Post
So that if your original drive fails, you can clone the contents of the image back to a new replacement drive.
Does this mean mount the sparse image and then drag the contents to a new drive or partition, which can then be booted, as if it were a normal cloned drive?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-11-2009, 05:51 AM
chris_johnsen chris_johnsen is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by fred View Post
Does this mean mount the sparse image and then drag the contents to a new drive or partition, which can then be booted, as if it were a normal cloned drive?
No, you would normally use SuperDuper! to do the clone from the mounted sparse image to an actual partition ("Restore - all files"; or "Backup - all files" if there is no Time Machine data on the source).

Dragging the contents will not copy permissions/ownership, other metadata, or files and dirs that are inaccessible to the copying user (other user's files, or "root only" files).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Undersized disk image and a Boot Camp-related backup question garybollocks General 3 10-23-2006 01:07 PM
Force quit required after failed sparse image backup minckster General 1 09-16-2006 10:03 AM
not ejecting sparse image after backup rossb General 7 02-08-2006 05:20 PM
SuperDuper Backup of AES 128 Encrypted Disk Image rwg4 General 3 11-30-2005 10:28 AM
Sparse image from aborted DMG backup? Winston General 9 10-22-2005 12:28 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.