Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-06-2022, 12:58 PM
Dan Lester Dan Lester is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 129
just cloning the data

With regard to system cloning, one strategy is to just clone the whole thing. As far as I can see, that works. Another, somewhat more data-economical possibility is to just clone the "data partition", and after installing a fresh copy of the OS on the boot disk, move the cloned data partition back on the boot disk. Is that "data partition" basically what you get when you clone "user files". Once you clone "user files" will SuperDuper move them onto the boot disk with the newly downloaded OS?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-06-2022, 01:13 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
No.

"User files" is just the Home folders (/Users). The data volume is copied (and updated) using "Backup - all files" with "Smart Update" under Big Sur and later.

SuperDuper doesn't move them onto the boot disk - you want to select "Restore" after a clean install and then point at the SuperDuper backup. That'll merge in all the data, settings and applications.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-06-2022, 06:44 PM
Dan Lester Dan Lester is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 129
Thanks. I guess I'm a little confused. Backup-all files get the operating system as well, does it not? I'm wondering if there is a way with SuperDuper to archive everything EXCEPT the OS, such that to rebuild the system, you download a fresh copy of the OS, and then attach everything else to it using your archived backup.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-06-2022, 06:50 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
"Backup - all filess" backs up essentially all files on the volume selected. With a "split volume" (System + Data on separate volumes), "Erase, then copy" copies BOTH volumes with replication (and cannot be selective). "Smart Update" copies just the Data volume (leaving the system volume alone).

If you just want to copy data, you use, as I said, "Backup - all files" with "Smart Update". I'm pretty sure I covered this at the blog...
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cloning just the OS but not data posslble? andy603 General 6 09-04-2009 12:54 PM
Big dilemma: data protection with Knox (sparseimages) / back up with SuperDuper! gianfry General 11 10-11-2008 04:59 PM
Cloning 2 TB's of Data hiimerik General 3 06-04-2008 08:36 AM
Backup doubled my data size. Help! seanm69 General 7 03-15-2007 09:26 PM
TESTING: SuperDuper problems copying some data stevea General 17 05-16-2005 07:18 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.