Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-09-2022, 04:05 PM
mschmitt mschmitt is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 18
FileVault encrypting 1.5 TB in 1 minute!

I'm having a FileVault encryption anomaly, which is probably not due to SuperDuper! but I'm not able to figure out a Google search to reveal the explanation. I'm hoping someone has a clue.

I'm now cloning my 3rd external Catalina backup of 3. This is another 1.5 TB drive, just like the one I did 4 weeks ago.

My procedure was:
  1. With (Mojave) drive connected to my iMac, use SuperDuper! to create the initial Catalina clone, by the erase-and-copy method.
  2. Disconnect from the iMac and connect to my MacBook Pro.
  3. Reboot the MBP in Safe Mode (to reduce number of processes running) off of the newly cloned external drive.
  4. Turn on FileVault.
  5. After FileVault encryption starts, disconnect from MBP and connect back to the iMac, as an external drive (not the boot drive).
  6. Let the FileValue encryption process continue

The last step normally takes days. But what I'm seeing is that when I first unlock/mount the drive, it shows as 5% encrypted, but then after a few minutes changes to just "Yes (Unlocked)", as if it is fully encrypted! Same in fdesetup: it says "FileVault is On".

If I unmount it, it says encryption is 0%, paused. If I mount it again, the same thing happens: starts as 5%, then goes to what it would be if 100%.

It can't possibly be fully encrypted, since this has only been an hour or so.

Any idea what's going on?

Note that I've managed to encrypt 4 other Catalina drives: the MBP, iMac, a 4 TB SD, and the other 1.5 TB HDD. Only this last one has this anomaly.

Oh, and one more thing: I did rename the drive after I did the SuperDuper! clone, before booting from it. I renamed the system volume using Disk Utility so that it would rename the Data volume to match, since renaming in the Finder didn't do that. Not sure if that makes any difference. But maybe because of that, it isn't encrypting the Data volume?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-09-2022, 05:05 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
The System volume isn't encrypted (since there's no point), so that seems unlikely. I think it may just be giving bad status?
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-09-2022, 05:10 PM
mschmitt mschmitt is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 18
But it also is doing no I/O to the this drive at all, so it clearly isn't working on encrypting it.

I'm thinking of starting completely over: erase the drive, re-clone, re-encrypt. And this time name it right the first time.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-09-2022, 05:12 PM
dnanian's Avatar
dnanian dnanian is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Weston, MA
Posts: 14,844
Send a message via AIM to dnanian
You can certainly try that. I would turn on encryption from the original Mac, not from a different one.
__________________
--Dave Nanian
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-09-2022, 06:09 PM
mschmitt mschmitt is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnanian View Post
You can certainly try that. I would turn on encryption from the original Mac, not from a different one.
Yeah, I did do that with the SSD drive. But with the HDD drives, it is such a miserable experience trying to get it to boot up and let you turn on the encryption, I've been doing it with the other, secondary computer.

Maybe what I'll do is leave it connected to the MBP long enough to see it progress beyond 5%.

And I just remembered that this is actually the 4th of 4 HDD drives that I've converted to Catalina clones. So the procedure has worked 3 times before.

Last edited by mschmitt; 09-09-2022 at 06:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-11-2022, 07:11 PM
mschmitt mschmitt is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 18
Same problem again. But I'm suspicious of the 2 Time Machine snapshots on the drive, that apparently were taken while I was booted from it, even though the Time Machine backup volume was not connected. Maybe that is related to this odd behavior.

Anyway, I'm thinking the best thing is to upgrade to Big Sur, erase and reclone.

BTW: I think that in Catalina the system volume is encrypted; it is only in Big Sur and later that it is not.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Update Manual for FileVault 2, please! mkalina General 8 03-27-2015 06:40 PM
SuperDuper! & FileVault 2 in Mountain Lion Vlad Ghitulescu General 19 12-31-2012 11:08 PM
FileVault garboczi General 5 01-26-2012 05:58 PM
FileVault not copying jondear General 5 08-17-2009 02:41 PM
Filevault protection Brent General 3 09-30-2006 02:07 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.