Shirt Pocket Discussions  
    Home netTunes launchTunes SuperDuper! Buy Now Support Discussions About Shirt Pocket    

Go Back   Shirt Pocket Discussions > SuperDuper! > General

Old 07-24-2004, 02:45 PM

Question trying to boot at startup from backup

just tried to boot at startup from the copy to my HD. --- as I would do in an emergency when the main drive wouldnt start (heaven forbid!)........
I pressed the "option" key at startup but the only option available was the main HD----- along with a straight arrow and a curved arrow.no EXT HD icon .

I've never tried starting that way before so not sure what I did or didnt do or if it is not possible to go to the ext HD that way. (yes ext HD was on and working properly.

thanks

sue
20 HD/ Ext 60
OS X.3.4
Old 07-24-2004, 04:33 PM
Administrator

Send a message via AIM to dnanian
The problem here might be that your Pismo doesn't allow Firewire booting. (I'm pretty sure it doesn't.)

That said, you can still restore should the time come: take a look at the manual's instructions for emergency restore. Basically, you'll boot from your Panther install CD, run Disk Utility from the Installer menu, and then restore from there.

Hope that helps, Sue!
Old 07-25-2004, 08:48 PM

backup

checked apple knowledge base pismo can boot firewire. and I am able to change the startup dr to the firewire (on which I put the superduper copy) .. worked fine that way. am checking with the maker of the buslink firewire HD to see if there are updated drivers to take care of the "option/startup issue. in any case, the copying was a cinch and loaded quickly.

will let you know what I find in case it will be knowledge for someone else.

thanks
sue
20 HD/ Ext 60
OS X.3.4
Old 07-27-2004, 09:18 AM
Administrator

Hm, that's strange! My mistake on the firewire boot transition -- sorry about that, but I'm glad you were able to do it from the Startup Disk preference pane.