Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   clone boots to blue screen (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1432)

roberttomas 07-06-2006 07:58 PM

clone boots to blue screen
 
Hello,

I just bought a new internal drive for my old G4. I cloned my existing
disk to it but when I try to boot from the cloned disk, I get the blue
screen and nothing else. Any suggestions on how to proceed?

Thanks.

Bob

dnanian 07-06-2006 10:18 PM

OK, Bob. That's a bit weird: if you hold down Cmd-Opt-v during power on (and keep it down), do you get any error text?

roberttomas 07-07-2006 08:39 AM

boots to old (original) disk
 
Dave,

Thanks for the reply.

I tried holding cmd-option-v and get the boot messages displayed but
the machine boots to the old (original) disk. I was able to try to boot
off the new (cloned) disk by booting with option depressed and then
selecting the new disk. I'm not sure I know a good way to get around this.
One thing I can think of is to switch the disk controller cables around
and make the new disk the master disk, then boot with cmd-option-v held.
Any commments before I proceed?

Bob

dnanian 07-07-2006 09:25 AM

OK: so it does actually boot when selected in certain ways, so the copy itself seems good.

I'd swap disks and make sure to use Cable Select (don't explicitly set master/slave). Once you get it started, make sure the drive is selected in the Startup Disk Preference Pane and see if that sticks...

roberttomas 07-07-2006 05:37 PM

Now it boots...
 
Hi Dave,

Actually, the cloned disk would not boot this a.m. when I restarted w/ the option
key held, and selected boot from the cloned disk. I could only boot succesfully
from the old disk.

So I just did that (booted from the old disk) and I went into the preferences panel and selected boot from the cloned disk. I then restarted and to my amazement, the old G4 booted fine

I'm farily certain operator error is involved here but I'm sorry to say that I don't know where or how.

Thanks for your time Dave.

Bob

dnanian 07-07-2006 05:44 PM

It sounds like, perhaps, the new drive isn't always spinning up fast enough... though it's hard to know for sure, Bob...


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.