Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Super Duper 2.1.4 Clone? (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4371)

Enigmacode 07-30-2008 01:13 PM

Super Duper 2.1.4 Clone?
 
Hello all

I have version 2.1.4

I was under the impression that when copying files from an external HD, a clone was made, with same name of the external disk drive?

Let me explain;
I have 5 Lacie external drives with video files of a documentary I've been working on. Each drive is labeled Lacie 1, Lacie 2, and so forth. I recently copied files from one of them and all the individual folders, (within that drive), were copied to another back up drive. I guess I need to make a main folder and move all those files manually over myself in the back up drive?

Only thing, Final Cut sometimes has difficulty in reconnecting media from another drive. But I guess I'll have to deal with that.


Thanx
Mike

dnanian 07-30-2008 01:22 PM

I'm not quite sure I understand what you mean. SuperDuper! copies the file on the volume you select to another volume. It doesn't copy the volume's name, nor does the whole disk get copied -- just the selected volume/partition...

Enigmacode 07-30-2008 04:44 PM

Hi Dave

Thanx for the response

I guess I'll need to go into the backed up drive, (where all the data was backed up to), and move all the individual folders that were copied, manually into a MAIN folder and call it/label it, the name of the original drive from where the data came from. The folders need to be separated according to what drive they came from, since I need to back up 5 separate external drives, and one secondary internal drive.

The designated back up drive is a single ONE TB drive, (capable of storing all the contents from all 5 external drives), and the secondary internal drive.

Know what I mean?

dnanian 07-30-2008 05:53 PM

You'd want to partition that destination drive into five partitions, actually -- don't try to use folders, because it won't work...

Enigmacode 07-30-2008 09:38 PM

Hi Dave

Thanx again

Dave, can Super Duper do that? Or do I need to use Disc Utility?

dnanian 07-30-2008 10:38 PM

We can't partition, no: Disk Utility does that. But we're happy to do the copy.

Enigmacode 07-30-2008 11:22 PM

Ok Dave

So here's a plan;
Go back and create 5 partitions within the one TB destination drive using disc utilty - guess I have to decide how big to make each partition first?

Then use Super Duper to copy the contents of the 5 external drives into each partitioned space of the destination back up drive.

Sound like a plan man?

Thanx

dnanian 07-31-2008 07:52 AM

Sounds right.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:10 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.