Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   ASR failure (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6382)

has55 02-04-2011 09:53 AM

ASR failure

I just completed a manual backup of my internal drive to my external drive, but SD reports " failed to create an ASR image of Media Store 2". is the ASR image and what I see in the advance section the same-" after copy, Create a disk image of Media store 2." The destination volume is pointed to the SD 'saved setting folder' on my internal. I also see this info at the end of my log:"10:43:31 AM | Error | Volume Media Store 2 on disk6 failed to unmount
"
This is a RAID Ext HD.

I see the files on the RAID ext Drive

How do I resolve this problem?

I'm new at this backup system, but I read enough of many forum that I should do it. SD was usually the recommended program. I just start using it, even thought I had it for a while. Is the ASR file what I boot up from if needed.?

If so should it be store on my internal drive that SD recommends- ~/library/application support/SD/SAVED?
I have leopard 10.6.6

Thanks for the info on how to disable spotlight from indexing Ext. HD

Austin

dnanian 02-04-2011 10:02 AM

You shouldn't be creating an ASR image at all, in most cases. Uncheck that option in the advanced tab of Options.

has55 02-04-2011 11:16 AM

Ok done. i I unchecked " after copy - create a disk image of media store 2". Should I uncheck " during copy-" copy ACLs from FullnessA"( internal HD)?

But what do I need for the bootable image, which I thought happen when I backup/ I see the files on the mirror drive, but I don't see haw I would boot up from them, drag and drop to internal, but I don't see a boot up file.

dnanian 02-04-2011 11:20 AM