Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Upgrade MBP to 320gb imaged from old drive (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4313)

johnlight 07-18-2008 12:10 AM

Upgrade MBP to 320gb imaged from old drive
 
Dear gurus of SuperDuper!, I've purchased a 320gb drive and would like to replace my current 250gb MBP hd but not have to reinstall everything. Can I use SuperDuper to create an image of the 250gb on the 320gb, then just take out the 250gb and replace it with the new drive? If I do that, will I magically have a 320gb with 250gb filled? Or will it be a 250gb partition and then a random ~70gb other partition? I looked through the threads in the FAQ and the pages here but didn't find that answer.

Thanks so much!

JL!

dnanian 07-18-2008 07:29 AM

Assuming you partition it properly (you have to use the GUID partition scheme, in Options in the partition tab of Disk Utility), as one big partition, it'll be 320GB: the sizes do not have to be the same.

Otherwise, the only 'trick' is to name the new drive the same as the original one.

ilia 08-31-2008 10:06 AM

I'm in the same boat. Need to upgrade my macbook's internal HD from 80GB to something bigger.

Please confirm that I can do this:
1) use SuperDuper to copy my internal HD to a bigger HD via external USB enclosure, making sure to name the bigger HD the same as the internal HD
2) remove the internal HD
3) insert the bigger HD into the macbook
4) boot into the same OS with the same settings and files but more space :)

dnanian 08-31-2008 12:12 PM

Partitioned properly (see above), yes. Same 'restrictions' as above. Remember to use "Backup - all files" with either Smart Update or Erase, then copy.

agiabuba 09-04-2008 07:15 PM

hello, similar situation.

pls tell me if this method would also work (becouse I haven't an external enclosure):
-backup from the old internal HD to an external firewire drive
-change internal HD with the new one
-boot from the firewire drive, format the new internal HD properly, launch a "backup - all files" from the external drive to the new internal.

would this work? thanks http://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/i...ons/icon14.gif

dnanian 09-04-2008 07:29 PM

Yes, that should work.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:56 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.