Shirt Pocket Discussions

Shirt Pocket Discussions (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Disabling Startup Mode Security Mac With T2 Chip (https://www.shirt-pocket.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7182)

Mojo 07-14-2019 03:51 PM

Disabling Startup Mode Security Mac With T2 Chip
 
I am getting ready to setup a refurb 2018 Mac Mini. I'm aware that starting-up from a bootable clone is impossible without entering Recovery Mode and disabling startup security mode.

What I haven't been able to find out is whether this can only be done on a incident-basis or whether I can perform this task one time and I will be able to boot from a startup disk forever.

My concern is that if it can only be done when a problem arises, if Recovery Mode is not accessible for some reason, then the bootable clone won't be usable either.

I can appreciate some of the inherent advantages of the T2 chip but there are some considerable downsides as well. (Has anyone heard if Apple has addressed the audio glitch affecting Macs with a T2 chip?) I may have decided against this Mac Mini purchase if I had been better informed about the T2 chip issues. . .

dnanian 07-14-2019 03:58 PM

It's a NVRAM setting and need only be done one time.

Mojo 07-15-2019 02:15 PM

Thanks Dave.

picaman 08-01-2019 11:58 AM

I have a new Mac mini with the T2 chip and Iíve been doing a daily backup to an external drive using the latest version of Super Duper. Trying to understand this - is my backup unusable unless I go into recovery mode and change the settings?

dnanian 08-01-2019 12:54 PM

You can't boot from an external device unless you turn on the ability in recovery. The backup itself is fine, but the system won't allow boot until you allow it.

picaman 08-01-2019 01:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dnanian (Post 34493)
You can't boot from an external device unless you turn on the ability in recovery. The backup itself is fine, but the system won't allow boot until you allow it.

OK so if I don’t allow it, in the event of a internal disk crash I could still restore to a new disk/computer as long as it had an OS on it?

dnanian 08-01-2019 01:19 PM

You could point to it during first boot when prompted to 'restore' and have it bring the data in, yes.

picaman 08-01-2019 01:24 PM

Ok that makes sense. Thanks for your time. For my needs to allow external boot seems to partially defeat the purpose of the T2 security.

dnanian 08-01-2019 01:28 PM

Not really. T2 has nothing to do with turning off external boot - that's just basically a setting that could be present in any BIOS.


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.