PDA

View Full Version : APM vs GPT Partionining Issue???

jimmymac_4
03-02-2008, 11:03 AM
I'm a retired IT professional with 35+ years of experience. Although I am Windows proficient, I am new to the MAC. I have a new Intel/Leopard based iMac. It is my understanding that the proper hard disk formatting for this particular computer is GPT (GUID Partition Table) as opposed to APM (Apple PartitionMap). I have a double backup scheme in place with two separate external firewire drives. System Profiler indicates that my Time Machine hard disk has GPT (GUID) partitioning, but my Super Duper Hard disk has APM partitioning. I would have expected that a clone of my internal (boot) drive would have produced a GPT (GUID) clone/copy. I thought that I initially partitioned my Super Duper backup drive as GPT (GUID), so I am baffled by what I have just discovered.

1. Why would my Super Duper clone (backup) have APM partitioning?
2. Is this any cause for concern?
3. Since I already have Time Machine in place and my iMac appears to be stable, should I just repartition (zero) my Super Duper drive and start from scratch?

Thanks in advance.

dnanian
03-02-2008, 11:14 AM
1. Because we copy volume to volume, and don't look (or copy) the partition table.
2. In general, no, but if you have the opportunity I'd repartition as GPD/GUID.
3. If you're comfortable with the TM backup, sure.

jimmymac_4
03-02-2008, 11:47 AM
Dave,

Well that was a surprisingly rapid reply. Instinct told me this was the was to proceed, but I wanted confirmation. From what you indicated, it would appear then that I must have inadvertently partitioned the drive incorrectly. That will be rectified shortly. Thanks much.

jimmymac_4
03-02-2008, 02:43 PM
Hard disk repartitioned ... drive re-cloned ... alls' right with the world. Perhaps a nice future feature would be source/target partition detection with a warning messaged issued (and perhaps a brief word of advice) should the partitions differ ... just a thought.